Vancouver, B.C. — The silverware never gets too heavy in the arms of Paul Caravetta and his fellow owners from B.C. Stables.

Capping a 2018 thoroughbred season that saw Here’s Hannah win four stake races at Hastings Racecourse, their brilliant 3-year-old filly also galloped off with
Horse of the Year honours at the annual Thoroughbred Awards Dinner at Newlands Golf and Country Club. Trained by John Morrison, Here’s Hannah captured the BC Oaks, Hong Kong Jockey Club, Supernaturel and Ross McLeod with veteran jockey Richard Hamel in the irons during the 2018 stakes schedule at Hastings.

“It never gets old making that trek to the winner’s circle and it never gets old being called up to the podium for these presentations,” Caravetta said. In overwhelming numbers from the Selection Committee, Here’s Hannah was named B.C. Bred Horse of the Year, Open Horse of the Year, Champion 3-Year-Old Filly B.C. Bred and Champion 3-Year-Old Filly Open Division.

Here’s Hannah was the only multiple winner in more than two categories on the Awards Dinner agenda. Others included: Champion Sprinter – Blue Law owned by Tim Bankers, trained by Cindy Krasner; Champion Older Male open division – Calgary Caper owned by Kim Peacock, Lance Giesbrecht & Phil Hall, trained by Phil Hall; Champion Older Male B.C. Bred Division – Driller owned by Don Danard & Mel Snow, trained by Mel Snow; Champion Older Filly/Mare Open Division – Victress owned by Rob & Vicky Gilker, trained by Rob Gilker;Champion Older Filly/Mare B.C. Bred Division – Notis the Jewell owned byMark Fielding, Larry Fielding, Cherie Moryson & Chris Derose, trained by Larry Fielding; Champion 3-Year-Old Male B.C Bred & Open Divisions – WeekendWizard owned by Riversedge Racing Stables, trained by Craig MacPherson; Champion 2-Year-Old Male Open Division – Explode owned by Canmor Farms, trained by Mark Cloutier; Champion 2-Year-old Male B.C. Bred Division – Dat Day owned by Canyon Farms, trained by Craig MacPherson; Champion 2-Year-Old Filly Open Division – Summerland owned by George Gilbert, trained by Phil Hall; Champion 2-Year-Old Filly B.C. Bred Division – Dancin Shoes owned by David and Delaurlyn Pihl, trained by Barbara Heads; Upper Level Claimer of the Year Over $15,000 – Under Par owned by Canmor Farms & Maureen Goss, trained by Mark Cloutier; Lower Level Claimer of the Year Under $15,000 – Shooting Jacket owned by Hastings Racing Club, trained by Keith Pedersen; Champion Juvenile Sire – Stephanotis; Champion Sire – Rosberg; Champion Broodmare – Dreams Start Here; Leading Breeder – Tod Mountain Thoroughbreds.

Inducted into the BC Horse Racing Hall of Fame were the Dittloff family – Ed, Gladys & Karen in the Breeders Category and Leif Nordahl in the Builders Category. Amadeo Perez won the Leading Jockey Award for a third time in his career at Hastings; Lenny Seecharan was Leading Apprentice Jockey. Phil Halltook Leading Trainer honours for a second consecutive year and acknowledged daughter Sara for her work as assistant trainer; Glen Todd for a second successive year was Leading Owner under the North American thoroughbred horse Company banner. Erik Gutierrez and Alvina Helfenstein shared the HBPABackstretch Person of the Year Award.

The 2019 thoroughbred season with 52 live racing dates at Hastings Racecourse begins Sunday, April 21 and runs through Sunday, October 20. The 2019 racing calendar is available online at


For further information:

Darren MacDonald                                                                 Greg Douglas                       

604.216.5234                                                                         604.736.4469