December 12, 2013

The dominant headline in the sports section of   the Seattle Times on August 19 read:  ‘Herbie D’s Day’. That can now be updated to Herbie D’s Night’ following the 2013 Thoroughbred Awards Dinner at Newlands Golf & Country Cub.

The five-year-old gelding owned by George Robbins and Darcia Doman swept five categories including Open Horse of the Year, B.C. Bred Horse of the Year, Champion Sprinter, Champion Older Male Open Division and Champion Older Male B.C. Bred Division.

“This is one of those nights that happen once in a lifetime,” Robbins beamed on his final trip to the podium.  Named after Darcia’s father and Robbins’ partner Herb Doman, who passed away in 2007, Herbie D won the John Longden 6000 on May 20, the Lieutenant Governors  on July 1 and the Mt. Ranier Handicap July 21 prior to capturing the 78th running of the $200,000 Grade 3 Longacres Mile at Emerald Downs on August 18.

Trained by Robert Gilker and ridden by Amadeo Perez, Herbie D had earnings of $200,596 in five starts during the 2013 campaign.  His lifetime earnings are $337,928.

Architecture, owned by Swift Thoroughbreds and trained by Dino Condilenios, won both the B.C. Bred and Open Divisions as Champion 2-year-old Filly; Neverabettercause, owned by James Eccott, Dr. Bryan and Carol Anderson and Lillian Jarvis-Meehan and trained by Pat Jarvis, was named Champion 2-year-old in both the B.C. Bred and Open Divisions; Tempered Steel swept the B.C. Bred and Open Divisions in the Champion 3-year-old Filly categories, owned by Nite n Day Management and Joanne Todd and trained by Brian O’Connell.

Go For Guinness, owned by George Gilbert and trained by Dave Forster, was named Champion 3-year-old Male, B.C. Bred Division while Title Contender, owned by Peter Redekop and trained by Anita Bolton, won Champion 3-year-old Male, Open Division.

Dance The Wind, owned by Linda and Clive Lytle and trained by Carl Lausten, was named winner of the Champion Older Filly/Mare B.C. Bred Division with the Open Division going to Madeira Park, owned by Exclusive Stable and Raymond Hanson and trained by Dave Forster.

Other winning categories included Finality, Champion Sire; Cause to Believe, Champion Sire for 2-year-olds; Chilli Chines, Champion Broodmare; Tod Mountain Thoroughbreds, Leading Breeder; Yes He’s Trouble, Claimer of the Year Under $15,000; Cry Cry Cry, Claimer of the Year Over $15,000.


Leading Jockey: Enrique Gonzalez; Leading Apprentice Jockey: Alexander Marti; Leading Trainer: Craig MacPherson; Leading Owner: Swift Thoroughbreds.  Diamond Award of Excellence: George Robbins and Rosann Anderson; CTHS Award for 50 years of consecutive membership: Ed and Gladys Dittloff and Karen Dittloff and Mr. & Mrs. R.W. Hall; CTHS Ambassador’s Award: Lynn Whyte; HBPA Backstretch Award: Larry Fielding; Hall of Fame Inductees:  Peter Redekop and Canyon Farms.

Hastings Racecourse management thanks its entire racing family for contributing to a successful 2013 thoroughbred season and looks forward to the resumption of racing in April, 2014.