Beginning Saturday, July 19 and running through August 22, British Columbia Horse Racing Hall of Fame inductees will be saluted at Hastings Racecourse with races named in their honour. The list includes owners, trainers, jockeys and history-making horses who contributed over the years to the industry’s rich heritage in B.C.

First out of the gate in the Hall of Fame lineup on July 19 are two great thoroughbreds that were fan favourites during different periods of time: Magic Note and Travelling Victor.

Magic Note, claimed by owner-trainer Tom Fenton in 1954 as a 5-year-old, ended a racing career four years later with 28 career victories in 117 starts. Magic Note was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1980.

Travelling Victor, bred by racing’s respected couple Russ and Lois Bennett, made history in 1983 when he became the first horse not raced in Ontario to win Horse of the Year honours in Canada as well as a Sovereign Award in the Older Horse category. It was the same year the Bennetts won a Sovereign as Breeder of the Year. Travelling Victor, winner of the BC Derby in 1982, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1991.

Two legendary trainers will be honoured posthumously on Sunday, July 20: George Cummins and R.G. (Cy) Anderson.

Cummins, who passed away July 7 at St. Paul’s Hospital just three days shy of his 93rd birthday, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1999. Cummins was a six-time leading trainer at Hastings. His horses won more than 900 races, including a record 66 in l992.

R.G. Anderson, affectionately known as ‘Papa Cy’ in racing circles over a career that spanned 45 years, actually tied Cummins as leading trainer in 1984 after making solo trips to the trainers’ podium in 1976 and 1977. ‘Papa Cy’ and his dear friend and fellow trainer Harold Barroby were inducted into the Hall of Fame together in 2001. In retirement, Anderson passed at the age of 77 on the family farm in Aldergrove.

Through the month of August there will be seven more B.C. Horse Racing Hall of Fame members acknowledged with races named in their honour: Cline Hoggard, Sam Krasner, Alan May and Red Rock Farm on August 3; Dave Forster on August 4; Sam Randall and W.H. (Bud) Macdonald on August 22.